Alabama Central Disbursement Division
By law, all Title IV-D child support payments and non Title IV-D child support payments
made through income withholding must be processed through a central payment center.
See The Personal
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PL 104-193)
and Alabama Code 1975,§30-3-195. In response to the legislation,
Alabama established The Alabama Child Support Payment Center (ACSPC) in August 2000.
It is imperative that all obligors, employers, and recipients of support understand
the route payments take from ACSPC to final disbursement to the recipients of support.
ACSPC transmits all Title IV-D payments to the Alabama Department of Human Resources
(DHR). For information regarding Title IV-D payments, please visit the DHR website. Conversely, all non Title IV-D payments are
transmitted to the Alabama Central Disbursement Division (ACDD). The information
in the following paragraph is provided to assist you on payments directed through
ACDD was established to handle disbursement of non-Title IV-D payments. Disbursements
are made on the same day they are received from ACSPC. ACDD disburses child support
payments by check, direct deposit or to a debit card. ACDD customer service representatives
are available to answer questions and perform indepth research regarding payments.
ACDD has implemented an interactive voice response system, available 24 hours a
day, seven days a week, which gives the date and amount of the last payment processed.
Additionally, the ACDD website provides helpful information including forms and
a 90 day account history.
Child Support Guidelines
Rule 32, Alabama Rules of Judicial Administration
(for cases filed between Oct. 4, 1993 and Dec. 31, 2008)
Rule 32, Alabama Rules of Judicial
(for cases filed on or after Jan. 1, 2009)
Alabama's Child Support Guidelines were adopted in response to requirements set
forth in the Child Support Enforcement Amendments of 1984 (P.L. 98-378) and the
Family Support Act of 1988 (P.L. 100-485). The guidelines provide an adequate standard
support for children, subject to the ability of their parents to pay, and make awards
more equitable by ensuring more consistent treatment of persons in similar circumstances.
These guidelines are based on the income shares model developed by the National
Center for State Courts and are founded on the premise that children should continue
to receive the same level of support that would have been available to them had
the family unit remained intact.
Child Support Guidelines Review
Schedule of Basic Child Support Obligations
(For cases filed BEFORE January 1, 2009)
Schedule of Basic Child Support Obligations (For cases filed ON OR AFTER
January 1, 2009)
The Schedule of Basic Child Support Obligations was developed through research sponsored
by the National Center for State Courts and is based on extensive economic research
on the cost of supporting children at various income levels. This schedule is based
on gross income and has been adjusted for Alabama's income distribution relative
to the U. S. income distribution. It also incorporates the federal income tax provisions
as well as the withholding schedule for Alabama state income tax.
Child Day Care Rates
The Alabama Child Support Guidelines provide an adjustment for work-related child
care costs, provided such costs do not exceed those on the schedule of guidelines
for licensed child care costs published by the Alabama Department of Human Resources
(DHR). The above chart shows the DHR weekly child care rates for all Alabama counties
effective as of October 1, 2009.
Rates are given for three school ages: infants/toddlers (birth - 30 months of age);
pre-school (30 months - 5 years); and school age (5 years through age 18 if the
child has a physical or mental disabilty documented by a licensed physician, psychologist
Federal Child Support Forms