FEE STANDARDS FOR SIGN LTANGUAGE
INTERPRETERS WORKING IN
ALARAMA'S LEGAL SETTINGS

The Alabama Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, in
compliance with Section 12-21-131, as amended by Act 88-538,
Section J, Paragraph (j), *...the fee shall be In accordance with
standards established by the Alabama Registry of Interpreters
for the Deaf, in addition to actual expenses for travel and
Transportation...”

March 1, 2000
CREDENTIALS FOR PAYMENT:
1. Interpreters holding the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID) “Special
Certificate: Legal” (issued since 1992) shall be secured for court and related
cases. If unavailable, interpreters with certificates from the Registry of

Interpreters for the Deaf (RID) or the National Association of the Deaf (NAD),
Levels S or 4, shall be secured, with preference given to those with documented

legal training.
2. The Appointing Authority shall provide a letter of appointment,

3. An Interpreter Claim for Expenses, Fees and Travel form shall be completed and
signed by the Appointing Authority.

FEES AND EXPENSE PROVISIONS:
1. Interpreters with an RID “Special Certificate: Legal” (SC:L) or Legal Skills
Certificate (LSC) shall be paid $150 per hour for the first two (2) hours with the
rate; thereafter, $75 per hour.

2. Interpreters, with other recognized National Certification (mentioned above), shall
be paid $120 per hour for the first two (2) hours; thereafter, $60 per hour.

3. Mileage will be paid at the current State rate.
4. Expenses related to overnight shall be paid at the State per diem rate.

5. Expenses related to overnight travel shall be paid at the State per diem rate.




