MEMORANDUM

TO: Advisory Committee on Child Support Guidelines and
Enforcement

FROM: Judge Terry Moore, Alabama Court of Civil Appeals

RE: Proposed Changes to Rule 32, Ala. R. Jud.
Admin.

DATE: May 10, 2020

I. Current Rule

Rule 32, Ala. R. Jud. Adm. requires the parties to
furnish to the court child-support forms to be wused in
determining child support in most cases. The court is to make
the forms part of its record. However, the rule does not
state when the parties have to provide the forms and how the
court is to make the forms part of the record.

Rule 32 allows for modification of child-support orders,
but does not prescribe the procedure for modification,
requiring a separate civil action as under pre-guidelines law.

Rule 32 does not address the allocation of child support
to multiple children or the effect on the award of one or more
child becoming emancipated or otherwise ineligible for child

support.



IT. CS Forms

I propose that Rule 32(E), Ala. R. Jud. Admin., be
amended to require the parties to file the child-support forms
no later than 30 days after their first appearance in the case
and to require that the forms be updated periodically to keep
the information current and accurate. I propose that the
court shall be required to attach the forms as an appendix to
its Judgment. This procedure should avoid the recurrent
problem confronted by the Alabama Court of Civil Appeals when
it cannot discern how child support was computed because
either the parties did not submit the forms or the court did

not include the forms in the record. See, e.g., Farguhar v.

Farquhar, 190 So. 3d 524 (Ala. Civ. App. 2015).

IIT. Modification Procedure

A child-support order may be modified upon proof of "a
material change 1n circumstances that is substantial and
continuing since the last order of child support". Rule
32(A) (3) (b), Ala. R. Jud. Admin. In order to obtain a
modification, the moving party must file an action, along with
a filing fee. The current filing fee "for cases filed in the
domestic relations docket of the circuit court seeking to
modify ... an existing domestic relations court order" 1is

$248. Ala. Code 1975 § 12-19-71(a) (7). After the filing of



an action, generally a hearing will be held, and a judgment
will be entered granting or denying the request for
modification.

Filing a formal action <can present a hardship for
parties, financially and otherwise, and, in certain types of
simple cases in which there was no deviation from the child-
support guidelines 1in the original child-support order, I
suggest that requiring a formal action to be filed is
unnecessarily burdensome.

A. Situation 1: One of multiple children becomes
emancipated

The first situation 1in which a more simplified and
informal procedure would be beneficial is a case in which a
child-support order is entered for the benefit of multiple
children and one or more of those children subsequently
becomes emancipated or otherwise ineligible for child support.
The schedule for basic child-support obligations contained in
the Appendix to Rule 32 sets forth the amount of child support
allocable to each child, but the child-support guidelines do
not specifically require the courts to allocate child support,

allowing for lump-sum, oOr in globo," awards of child
support.?
"Our caselaw provides that, when the judgment does not

specify the amount of child support allocated to each child,



'events such as a child's reaching the age of majority or a
child's marriage do not automatically modify a child support

Jjudgment.'" Langstaff v. Langstaff, 166 So. 3d 128, 132 (Ala.

Civ. App. 2014) (quoting State ex rel. Dep't of Human Res. v.

Curran, 716 So. 2d 1196, 1199 (Ala. Civ. App. 1997).
Therefore, a noncustodial parent may not unilaterally reduce
the amount of <child support he or she pays after the
emancipation of one of multiple children; instead, the
noncustodial parent must file a petition for a modification of
the child-support obligation. Id. In many, if not most,
cases, this leads to the inequitable result that the obligor
becomes obligated to pay child support for an ineligible
child. On the other hand, allowing unilateral reduction would
likely lead to the worse problem that the obligor would
miscalculate the reduction leading to a shortfall in support
for the remaining children that could only be rectified by
court action.

The difficulties with the current state of the child-

support guidelines was evinced in Rhodes v. Rhodes, [2180928,

May 1, 2020] So. 3d , (Ala. Civ. App. 2020). In
Rhodes, the Alabama Court of Civil Appeals affirmed a judgment
to the extent that it found a noncustodial parent in contempt

for unilaterally reducing his child-support payments by one-



half following the oldest of his multiple children reaching
the age of majority despite the father having made efforts,
albeit insufficient, to obtain a modification of child
support. I dissented to the court's decision on that point,
reasoning, 1in part:

"[T]o the average layperson exercising common
sense, 1t would seem that when one of two children
reaches the age of majority so as to no longer be
eligible for child support, child support should be
reduced by one-half the court-ordered amount to
cover the remaining minor child. The father clearly,
although mistakenly, understood that to be the case
and acted accordingly, even while simultaneously
attempting, albeit unsuccessfully, to file a request
for a modification of his child-support obligation
to obtain judicial approval of his actions."

So. 3d. at (Moore, J., dissenting).
B. Situation 2 - 10% wvariation

Another situation in which a simplified, informal
procedure could be applied is where "the difference between

the existing child-support order and the amount determined by

application of the[] guidelines varies more than ten percent
(10%)." I note that, pursuant to Alabama's child-support

guidelines, where there was no deviation from the child-
support guidelines in the original child-support order, there
exists "a rebuttable presumption that child support should be
modified when the difference between the existing

child-support order and the amount determined by application



of the[] guidelines varies more than ten percent (10%)." In
Alabama, "[t]he basic child-support obligation [is] determined
by using the schedule of basic child-support obligations" in
the appendix to Rule 32 ("the schedule"). Rule 32 (C) (1),
Ala. R. Jud. Admin. Using the combined adjusted gross income
of the parents and the number of children "for whom the
parents share joint legal responsibility and for whom child
support is being sought", the basic child support obligation
can be determined directly from the schedule.? 1In cases in
which "the difference between the existing child-support order
and the amount determined by application of the[] guidelines
varies more than ten percent", a more simplified and informal
procedure option would be beneficial.
C. Research

In seeking to determine an simplified and 1informal
alternative to filing a formal modification action in the
types of cases discussed previously, I have researched the
child-support laws from other jurisdiction.

Initially, I note that several other Jjurisdictions
provide that, in the case of a child-support order covering
multiple children, the order should set out the amount by
which the order will be reduced as each child attains the age

of majority or 1is otherwise emancipated. These states



include Georgia®, Texas®, Utah,® Nebraska®, Kansas’, and Idaho®.
This method is the simplest method, in that it allows the
child-support order to be modified automatically, without any
interaction between the parties or court intervention. The
drawback with this method is that it does not take into
account any changes in income that might have occurred between
the time of the order and the time a child is emancipated.

Other states provide a method of informal review 1in
certain cases. For instance, Oklahoma provides for an
informal review and adjustment of any child-support order as
often as annually upon request of one parent or as directed in
the child-support order.’ Okla. Stat. Ann. Tit. 43 §
118TI (D). The California Legislature also ordered "the
adopt[ion of] rules of court and forms for a simplified method
to modify support orders...designed to be used by parents who
are not represented by counsel." Cal. Fam. Code § 3680.
Additionally, in Arizona, section 25-320(25), Ariz. Rev. Stat.
Ann., provides, 1n part:

"If child support for more than one child was
ordered under these guidelines and thereafter the
duty to support one of the children stops, the order
is not automatically reduced by that child's share.

To obtain a modification to the child support order,
a request must be made in writing to the court to
recalculate the child support obligation pursuant to

these guidelines. The procedure specified in Section
24 may be used for this purpose.”



"Section 24, in turn, states that any modification must be
made pursuant to A.R.S. §§ 25-327 and -503 or by using a

simplified procedure." Guerra v. Bejarano, 133 P. 2d 752, 755

(Ariz. App. Div. 1 2006). The simplified procedure 1is
permitted to be used, among other reasons, when "application
of the guidelines results in an order that varies 15% or more
from the existing amount".?’

Finally, in Vermont, under certain circumstances,
including where "[a] child support order ... varies more than
ten percent from the amounts required to be paid under the
support guideline", a motion to modify the child-support order
must be filed with "an affidavit setting forth calculations
demonstrating entitlement to modification and shall be served
on other parties and filed with the court." Thereafter, "if
the calculations demonstrate cause for modification, the
magistrate shall enter an order modifying the support award in
accordance with the calculations provided, unless within 15
days of service of, or receipt of, the request for
modification, either party requests a hearing." Vt. Stat.
Ann. Tit. 15 § 660.

D. Proposal
After considering the difficulties presented by the

current guidelines and the rules in the foregoing states, T



propose that the guidelines be amended in the following ways:

(1) Establish a simplified procedure for
modification of child support orders in the above
situations.

Example, which is based on Arizona's law:

"If a party seeks modification of an order of
child support entered in an action for divorce,
legal separation, or annulment, on the ground that
application of the child-support guidelines in Rule
32 of the Alabama Rules of Judicial Administration
would result in an amount that varies 10% or more
from the amount in the existing order of child
support, or on the ground that one of multiple
children covered by an order of child support has
become ineligible for child support, the party may
file a written request for modification along with
a Form CS-42 based on the current incomes of the
parties and a proposed order modifying child
support, which documents shall be served on the
other parties. If the requested modification 1is
disputed, the opposing party must request in writing
a hearing within 30 days of service, setting forth
the basis of the dispute and attaching a Form CS-42
if disputing the Form CS-42 filed by the party
requesting modification. If a hearing is requested,
the court shall conduct the hearing after provide
notice of the hearing no later than 10 days
beforehand and no modification shall be made without
the hearing. Upon proof of service and 1if no
hearing is requested within the time allowed, the
court will review the request and enter an
appropriate order or set the matter for hearing.
This procedure shall not constitute a new action and
shall not require the payment of a filing fee."

(2) Require the courts to allocate child support and
to establish the effect of each child's becoming

emancipated or otherwise ineligible.

Example, which 1is based on Nebraska's Rule of Court 4-
208:

"If the court orders child support for more than



one child, the order of child support shall specify
the amount of child support due for each child, with
the amount recalculated and reduced as the
obligation to support terminates for each child,
unless the parties agree otherwise. If the automatic
reduction renders the amount of child support for
the remaining children in noncompliance with the
amount required by child-support guidelines
established in Rule 32 of the Alabama Rules of
Judicial Administration, the obligee parent may
request modification of the order of child support
in accordance with the simplified procedure
established in . If the order fails to
allocate child support to each child, the obligor
may obtain modification of the order to obtain the
allocation required herein without paying a further
filing fee; otherwise the obligor may request
modification of the order of child support as each
child Dbecomes 1ineligible for <child support in
accordance with the simplified procedure established
in . Unless modified as provided herein,
an order of child support that does not allocate
child support to each child terminates when the
youngest child reaches 19 years of age."

(3) If no change 1is made, require courts to notify
the parties in any order of child support covering
multiple children that the amount of the award shall
not be affected by the emancipation or ineligibility
of a child for support unless and until modified by
the court. The order should explain that the parties
have the right to seek recalculation of the award
under the simplified, informal procedure or by
filing a formal request for modification.?!!

Thank you for your consideration of my suggestions, and
please contact me or my staff attorney, Amanda Cox, if you
would like to discuss this subject further.

Endnotes
1.

The difference in what the basic child support obligation is
for a child-support order for one child versus two, three,



four, five, or six children is not uniform for all combined
adjusted gross 1income levels. For instance, under the
schedule, using a combined adjusted gross income of $850.00,
the basic child support obligation is only one dollar more for
2 children than it is for a single child. However, with a
combined adjusted gross income of $20,000 the difference in
the basic child support obligation involving one child verses
two children is $620.

2.

"The court may use its discretion in determining child support
in circumstances where combined adjusted gross income is below
the lowermost levels or exceeds the uppermost levels of the
schedule." Rule 32(C) (1), Ala. R. Jud. Admin.

3.
Ga. Code Ann. § 19-6-15(b) (12), provides:

""When there 1is more than one child for whom
support 1s being determined, the court shall
establish the amount of support and the duration of
such support 1in accordance with subsection (e) of
this Code section. When, within two years of a final
order being entered, there is a likelihood that a
child will become ineligible to receive support, the
court may allow for the use of separate worksheets.
Separate worksheets shall show the final <child
support amount to be paid for all such children and
the adjusted amount of support to be paid as each
child becomes ineligible to receive support during
such two-year period. Such worksheets shall be
attached to the final order. Such order shall
contain findings as required by law. A final order
entered pursuant to this paragraph shall not
preclude a petition for modification.

Section 154.127, Tex. Family Code Ann., provides:

"(a) A child support order for more than one
child shall provide that, on the termination of
support for a child, the level of support for the
remaining child or children 1is 1in accordance with
the child support guidelines.

"(b) A child support order is in compliance with



5.

the requirement imposed by Subsection (a) 1f the
order contains a provision that specifies:

"(1l) the events, including a child
reaching the age of 18 years or otherwise
having the disabilities of minority
removed, that have the effect of
terminating the obligor's obligation to pay
child support for that child; and

"(2) the reduced total amount that the
obligor is required to pay each month after
the occurrence of an event described by
Subdivision (1) ."

Section 78B-12-219, Utah Code Ann., provides for an
automatic adjustment of the child-support obligation upon
emancipation of one of multiple children as follows:

"(1) When a child becomes 18 years of age or
graduates from high school during the child's normal
and expected year of graduation, whichever occurs
later, or 1if the child dies, marries, becomes a
member of the armed forces of the United States, or
is emancipated in accordance with Title 78A, Chapter
6, Part 8, Emancipation, the base child support
award is automatically adjusted to the base combined
child support obligation for the remaining number of
children due child support, shown in the table that
was used to establish the most recent order, using
the incomes of the parties as specified in that
order or the worksheets, unless otherwise provided
in the child support order.

"(2) The award may not be reduced by a per child
amount derived from the base child support award
originally ordered.

"(3) If the incomes of the parties are not
specified 1in the most recent order or the
worksheets, the information regarding the incomes is
not consistent, or the order deviates from the
gulidelines, automatic adjustment of the order does
not apply and the order will continue until modified



7.

by the issuing tribunal. If the order is deviated
and the parties subsequently obtain a judicial order
that adjusts the support back to the date of the
emancipation of the child, the Office of Recovery
Services may not be required to repay any difference
in the support collected during the interim."

Section 4-208, Neb Ct. R., provides:

"If there is more than one child, the court's
order should specify the amount of child support due
for the children, with the amount recalculated and
reduced as the obligation to support terminates for
each child. The amount due for each possibility
should be calculated separately from table 1....
The order should direct that child support continue
only until each child reaches majority wunder
Nebraska law, becomes emancipated, becomes
self-supporting, marries, or dies, or until further
order of the court."

The Kansas Supreme Court Administrative Order No.

(V) (B) (4), provides:

8

"Support Orders for Two or More Children. In
child support orders, support amounts for two or
more children, are stated as a total amount rather
than on a per child Dbasis. Absent Jjudicial
modification of the order, as each child emancipates
as defined in K.S.A. 23-3001, et seg. and amendments
thereto, or by court order, the total obligation
will decrease proportionately based on the number of
minor children at the time of the termination or
emancipation.

"Parents may seek to modify child support orders
and income withholding orders when the legal
obligation to pay child support terminates for any
child or any child is emancipated."

The Idaho Child Support Guidelines provide:

307



"Section 12. Expression of Child Support. The court's
judgment shall state the total monetary support for all
children, the due date and the total monetary support due to
the remaining children as each child is no longer entitled to
support.

"Example: If there are three children initially, and
later one child emancipates, the amount of support will not be
reduced by one-third, but will reflect the appropriate amount
from the schedule for two children, and later one child."

9. Okla. Stat. Ann. Tit. 43 § 118I (D), provides:

"l. When a child support order 1is entered or
modified, the parents may agree or the district or
administrative court may require a periodic exchange
of information for an informal review and adjustment
process.

"2. When an existing child support order does
not contain a provision which requires an informal
review and adjustment process, either parent may
request the other parent to provide the information
necessary for the informal review and adjustment

process. Information shall be provided to the
requesting parent within forty-five (45) days of the
request.

"3. Requested information may include

verification of income, proof and cost of medical
insurance of the children, and current and projected
child care costs. If shared parenting time has been
awarded by the court, documentation of past and
prospective overnight visits shall be exchanged.

"4. Exchange of requested information may occur
once a year or less often, by regular mail.

"5. a. If the parents agree to a modification of
a child support order, their agreement shall be in
writing using standard modification forms and the
child support computation form provided for in
Section 120 of Title 43 of the Oklahoma Statutes.



"b. The standard modification forms and the
standard child support computation form shall be
submitted to the district or administrative court.
Either court shall review the modification forms to
confirm that the child support obligation complies
with the child support guidelines or, if agreed to
by the parties, the court may approve a deviation
from the child support guidelines as provided in
subsection B of Section 118H of this title. If the
court approves the modification forms, they shall be
filed with the court."

10.
The simplified procedure for requesting a modification is as
follows:

"A copy of the request for modification of child
support and the 'Parent's Worksheet for Child
Support Amount, ' including supporting documentation,
showing that the proposed child support amount would
vary 15% or more from the existing child support
order shall be served on the other parent, or on
both parents if filed by the state Title 1IV-D
agency, pursuant to Rule 27, Arizona Rules of Family
Law Procedure (ARFLP).

"If the requested modification is disputed, the
parent receiving service must request a hearing
within 20 days of service. If service 1is made
outside the state, as provided in Rule 42, ARFLP,
the parent receiving service must request a hearing
within 30 days of service.

"A party requesting a hearing shall file a
written request for hearing accompanied by a
completed and sworn 'Parent's Worksheet for Child
Support Amount.' Copies of the documents filed,
together with the notice of hearing, shall be served
on the other party and, 1if appropriate, the state
Title IV-D agency by first class mail not less than
ten judicial days prior to the hearing.

"Upon proof of service and if no hearing 1is
requested within the time allowed, the court will



review the request and enter an appropriate order or
set the matter for hearing."

"If any party requests a hearing within the time
allowed, the court shall conduct such hearing. No
order shall be modified without a hearing if one 1is
requested."

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 25-320(24).

11.
I note that the Pennsylvania child-support guidelines require
an "emancipation inquiry and notice to [be sent] to the

[child-support] obligee" "[w]ithin six months prior tot he
date a child who is the subject of a child support order
reaches [the age of majority in that state]". I think that

this requirement creates too much of an administrative burden
on the courts. The notification in the original child support
order I have proposed should be sufficient to place a parent
on notice of the right to seek modification of the order upon
the emancipation of one of multiple children.



